Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ItsLachlan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 13, 2018
Sydney
Hey all! I’m new to this forum and also Mac in general. I’m looking at buying my first MacBook Pro. I’ve decided I want the 2017 15” MacBook Pro Quadcore 16GB Ram with Radeon 560 graphics. But researching further I’ve seem rumours about the future Mac with coffee lake hexcore. I’m wondering if I should wait for the next model or to go with the current 2017 15”.
I design in Photoshop, illustrator and Lightroom, browse net and would also like to be able to light game occasionally, GTAV with boot camp etc.
Im an apprentice plumber so want to spend my money wisely, if it means waiting for the next MacBook to future proof then that’s what I’ll do

I’m new to all of this, open to all opinions and recommendations

Last edited:

NT1440

macrumors G5
May 18, 2008
Hey all! I’m new to this forum and also Mac in general. I’m looking at buying my first MacBook Pro. I’ve decided I want the 2017 15” MacBook Pro Quadcore 16GB Ram with Radeon 560 graphics. But researching further I’ve seem rumours about the future Mac with coffee lake hexcore. I’m wondering if I should wait for the next model or to go with the current 2017 15”.
I design in Photoshop, illustrator and Lightroom, browse net and would also like to be able to light game occasionally, GTAV with boot camp etc.
Im an apprentice plumber so want to spend my money wisely, if it means waiting for the next MacBook to future proof then that’s what I’ll do

I’m new to all of this, open to all opinions and recommendations
Given that you already are open to it, Macs tend to be updated in either September or October. With the potential of the hardware updates improving the keyboard alone, not to mention processor updates, I’d just wait a few months.