Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Heindijs

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 15, 2021
Hey everyone. I recently bought a couple of GeForce 6600‘s for little money. I want to flash one to put in my PowerMac G4.
I know that you use Nvflash to do this but there doesn’t seem to be any information on what to do to flash this card. I am a total noob on flashing gpu’s and I assume you’d need a custom rom file in addition to nvflash. Is there any site which has these files?

I also watched Action Retro’s video on flashing a gpu and he didn’t say anything about needing a rom file which makes it seem like you’d only need a version of nvflash (which he had to hunt down for a random version on the internet for some reason)

Does anyone know more?

Project Alice

macrumors 68020
Jul 13, 2008
Post Falls, ID
Hey everyone. I recently bought a couple of GeForce 6600‘s for little money. I want to flash one to put in my PowerMac G4.
I know that you use Nvflash to do this but there doesn’t seem to be any information on what to do to flash this card. I am a total noob on flashing gpu’s and I assume you’d need a custom rom file in addition to nvflash. Is there any site which has these files?

I also watched Action Retro’s video on flashing a gpu and he didn’t say anything about needing a rom file which makes it seem like you’d only need a version of nvflash (which he had to hunt down for a random version on the internet for some reason)

Does anyone know more?
Most everything you need to know is on here.

I’ve never flashed a 6600, only a 5200, and a 6200. Should be simple as long as everything is compatible, though.
First off which model of PowerMac G4 is it? Some of the earlier G4s are keyed so 4x/8x cards don’t fit.

Reactions: TheShortTimer

Heindijs

macrumors 6502
Original poster
May 15, 2021
Most everything you need to know is on here.