Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MrRichBOB

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 15, 2018
This is an obscure card for the Power Mac G5, but I have heard of it being done and I know someone here did it by replacing the ROM, but I think I have heard of doing it without having to do that.

I bought an unused 7800 GT with 256MB of video RAM.

Ignoring I have no experience whatsoever with flashing video cards before, I could probably figure out that and I know I can replace the ROM chip with the other if need be, but my problem is finding compatible Apple Firmware.

I ask that if any has an Apple branded card or what if they can give a copy of their firmware, if that is safe to do. Or a compatible firmware in general. Like is the Apple 7800 GTX firmware compatible?
[doublepost=1544912596][/doublepost]LoL, I found it: http://themacelite.wikidot.com/wikidownloads2

This is specifically the download link: http://campahunta.free.fr/Downloads/ROMs/nv_oem_7800gt_2152_2_pcie_full.rom.zip

Always when I give up:

upload_2018-12-15_16-23-9.png

3MaN4reVer

macrumors newbie
Nov 30, 2018
World
Wrote instructions for you:

1. To flashing the firmware you need a PC.
2. Install your card in PC.
3. Download DOS version of NVFlash:
https://www.techpowerup.com/download/nvidia-nvflash/
4. Create bootable FlashDrive with FreeDOS (for example using Rufus in Windows)
https://rufus.akeo.ie/downloads/
5. Copy NVFlash to FlashDrive and boot from it.
6. Navigate to the folder with NVFlash.
cd nvflash
7. Save backup of your vBIOS.
nvflash.exe --save backup.rom
or
nvflash.exe -b backup.rom
8. Flash down the new firmware.
nvflash.exe -4 -5 -6 firmware.rom
If the error is "EEPROM erase failed. ERROR: Software write protection enabled, unable to erase EEPROM." Unlock firmware write protection:
nvflash.exe --protectoff