Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Technerd108

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Oct 24, 2021
So I am new to smart watches. When I pre ordered the Pixel 8 Pro the Pixel watch 2 was my first smart watch and I liked it. It is very fast and responsive. It was pretty easy to learn but my GOD every 5 seconds a buzz on my wrist. I became a pavlovian dog with a phantom feeling of notifications when the watch wasn't on me and trying to sleep with constant buzzing was crazy. I had to basically turn off the haptics and sounds for notifications because it became too intrusive. But it is extremely good at getting you notifications on anything. You won't miss a thing.

Overall the Pixel watch 2 is well made, light, comfortable, lasts a long time on a charge and has a nice screen. The UI is fluid and responsive and mostly intuitive. It is a good smartwatch. BUT it is a bit small and the screen is really small and has really large bezels. The Aluminum looks nice and is all polished. The glass extends the entire face and some of the width of the watch. This means any knocks are going to directly hit the gorilla glass 5. Overall though it was a very nice introduction to smart watches.

Then I pre-ordered the s24 ultra and the galaxy watch 6 classic. The Pixel is newer and has a quad core processor on TSMC 4nm process vs a dual core Exynos on Samsung 5nm process. I thought this would cause a couple of issues both poor performance and poor battery life compared to the Pixel. But I had no idea what to expect.