Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SHowHawk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 1, 2007
Hello all. I am new to Macs and am preparing to purchase a MacBook (and waiting to see what Santa Rosa w/ GMA965-X3100 and/or WWDC updates, if any, might bring to the little white or black wonder). While I don't expect that I will spend a whole lot of time gaming on this MacBook (I intend it more for writing, photo/graphics work, and some home video editing), I do enjoy the occasional ongoing game of Civ IV, maybe Quake IV, UT 2004, Halo, Homeworld and a few others.

With Civ IV being the "newest" of those games, and seemingly the most taxing on a systems resources, I was wondering what experiences anyone has had with playing Civ IV on a MacBook. I know that the Intel GMA950 graphics are not listed as officially supported by Civ, but I have read reports elsewhere that many have been able to run Civ IV successfully on MacBooks. I also, however, read somewhere that the latest update to Civ IV "broke" it on MacBooks. Is that true?

While I know that a MacBook Pro would be a better gaming choice, with its ATI Radeon X1600 and all, I am not willing to fork out $400+ just so I can play a few games a little better (I know, there are other benefits to the MBP, but still... $400+ extra).

Any advice and or experiences with Civ IV on the MacBook?

Thanks! :)

ghall

macrumors 68040
Jun 27, 2006
Rhode Island
Civ 3 is pretty graphic intensive, and my MacBook Pro bearly meets the system requirements. I wouldn't recommend playing Civ 4 on a MacBook, but I could give it a try if you'd like(I have access to a MacBook).

scienide09

macrumors 65816
May 5, 2007
Canada
I recently bought an MBP because the integrated GPU of the MacBook wasn't what I wanted. (I've had trouble with an integrated chip in the past, and have sworn them off.) Who knows if SR will be a marked improvement?