Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AZhappyjack

macrumors G3
Original poster
Jul 3, 2011
Happy Jack, AZ
I have a garage door opener from 2004... and the motor is going out... time to update the system, but would prefer something that is compatible with CarPlay... not sure where to start... several threads here talk about HomeKit add-ons for the openers... and I have not found anything that is CarPlay-ready out of the box... any

aristobrat

macrumors G5
Oct 14, 2005
FWIW it’s HomeKit, not CarPlay.

Googling that turned up a few “Best of 2020” review guides but I didn’t have a chance to read them to see if there are any integrated models.

My 2015 MyQ opener didn’t have it built in, so I got the separate wireless hub. Works great. Took about 10 min to unbox and setup.

Reactions: pippox0

inkahauts

macrumors 6502
Sep 7, 2014
Yeah most will require a hub. I have a MyQ lift master as well with the hub. Works great.

Itinj24

Contributor
Nov 8, 2017
New York
Like aristobrat mentioned, there is no CarPlay enabled garage door opener. CarPlay pulls the info from HomeKit so as long as its HomeKit enabled, it will show up in CarPlay.

I had the Insignia openers for a couple years and they worked great. Only issue was the battery life in the door sensors. Maybe got 2-3 months out of the CR 2054 tops. Guess it also depends on how often you use it. Other than that, flawless.

The iSmartGate got really got reviews too. I moved a few months ago and left the Insignia openers with the new home owners so I’m gonna test out the MyQ system. Got a really good deal on the openers and hub during Black Friday last year.

D3ggy

macrumors 6502a
Mar 26, 2019
Ok so there is no direct door opener (a maybe) but I have my garage door/gates opening with Siri.