Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

tensixturtle

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 30, 2021
Kepler 22b
Hello,
I am trying to get started for the first time with Snow Leopard Server so I can Netboot a few OSes. I am using a 2010 Mac mini as my server. I was wondering if there are some good resources that I would help me set this up? I have no prior experience with this and could not find anything that would help guide me.
Thanks in advance.

hobowankenobi

macrumors 68020
Aug 27, 2015
on the land line mr. smith.
As long as you are aware that this is dead and buried...newer Macs won't Netboot the same way. It was fun while it lasted...but those days are long gone. It's all fading in our collective memory. The replacement method is typically booting to Recovery mode, and then pushing a new OS out to client Macs.

With that disclaimer out of the way...here is a pretty good overview for somebody still wanting to try this.

Reactions: tensixturtle

tensixturtle

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 30, 2021
Kepler 22b
@hobowankenobi thank you very much for the video. It was much better than the un-understandable 2 hour long tutorial that I found. The computers that I am targeting are mainly early Intels so SL Server makes the most sense for me.

My next question is about why none of my computers are recognizing the Netboot image that says is created and running. I have tried connecting with WiFi as well as ethernet but it doesn't seem to recognize it. Is part of my settings wrong? Please see the attached screenshots.
Thanks.

Attachments

• Screen shot 2022-04-05 at 8.00.34 PM.png
    Screen shot 2022-04-05 at 8.00.34 PM.png
    100.6 KB · Views: 113
  • Screen shot 2022-04-05 at 8.00.44 PM.png
    Screen shot 2022-04-05 at 8.00.44 PM.png
    95.4 KB · Views: 104
  • Screen shot 2022-04-05 at 8.00.39 PM.png
    Screen shot 2022-04-05 at 8.00.39 PM.png
    99.5 KB · Views: 109

Project Alice