Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

trainguy77

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Nov 13, 2003
What do you think of this button? Something is wrong with it. I made it in GIMP. I am a noob at making buttons.(or anything) So what can i do to make it look better?

Attachments

• test.gif
    test.gif
    3.5 KB · Views: 820
  • test2.gif
    test2.gif
    3 KB · Views: 800

hikingnclimbing

macrumors member
Jan 10, 2006
Gorham, ME
I'd try using a font other than Times. Something san-serif (without the tails on the letters, i.e. Arial-esque fonts) would probably work better. Or at least that's been my experience with buttons. Also try switching the color of the font to something with a bit more contrast. Because of the darker color on top and the lighter on the bottom, both black and white can blend in a bit with either of those shades. Or maybe just a more prominent font (something bold, for example) would work better with black and white.

Just my 2 cents.

matticus008

macrumors 68040
Jan 16, 2005
Bay Area, CA
You should also send the text a few layers back. The glass look works best if you don't have anything floating on top of it. If you don't have any transparent layers behind the text, create two or three on top of it to "soften" the look of the text (and also change the text as others have recommended).

trainguy77

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Nov 13, 2003
matticus008 said:
You should also send the text a few layers back. The glass look works best if you don't have anything floating on top of it. If you don't have any transparent layers behind the text, create two or three on top of it to "soften" the look of the text (and also change the text as others have recommended).
Right now it goes
Glass
text(transparent background)
background(transparent corners)
transparent layer

So you say I add layers behind the text?(In between text and background)
Why would you do that?

matticus008