Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

howboutjoe

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 27, 2011
I spent two days this weekend deciding which screen to get on my new MacBook Pro. Countless searches revealed one thing: If you hate the glossy, you don't understand how anyone could like it and anti glare is the only way to go. You also hate how you always see your reflection, etc, etc...

I don't hate the glossy display. It's really pretty, especially when conditions are right. I've got a 27" Cinema Display and it's gorgeous. I assumed that there would be a trade off in getting the anti glare.

I don't hate the anti glare display either.

I'm not a graphic designer, so color accuracy isn't the most important thing to me.

Fortunately, my wife has a 2010 15" MacBook Pro with the glossy screen, and my dad has a 2010 15" MacBook Pro with anti glare. So, I had the opportunity to compare them side by side, while doing the same things in real places. Here is a stream of important things to know:

• In direct sunlight, neither will be useable, but glossy might blind you.
  • If the reflection factor is going to bother you, it will do so immediately
  • At the lowest level of brightness, glossy is essentially a mirror
  • The anti glare is a damn nice screen, no dropoff in quality

Bottom line is that I chose the HD anti glare screen. Not because I hate the glossy, but because both screens looked equally nice, but the anti glare looked nice more often. I'll also say that I was going to go HD no matter what, and that the cost to upgrade to anti glare was worth it. If I was not committed to HD, I don't think I would have upgraded to HD just to go anti glare, but if you're on the fence, and are definitely going HD, I think anti glare is the way to go.

That's my two cents. I hope this helps someone, since could have used this info two days ago :)

r0k

macrumors 68040
Mar 3, 2008
Detroit