Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Le0M

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 13, 2020
Hello everyone,

I've been using my MacBook Air late 2010 since then, and in a few months I'll have the opportunity to start working on shooting with DLSRs and such, and then post editing full-hd (perhaps more), so I'll definitely have to get a way more powerful Mac. I'm really tempted by the 16 inches MacBook Pro, but since Apple's announcement for its upcoming SOC Macs I'm not sure I want to upgrade before that happens, since by the look of it, they are going to be way more powerful and have increased battery life. Lastly, I might go to China next year and I wanted to know whether there are any downsides by getting one there, like it happens with iPhones where FaceTime audio is not available. So I'm here to have your two cents on this.

Thanks in advance,
Leonardo

nothingtoseehere

macrumors 6502
Jun 3, 2020
so I'll definitely have to get a way more powerful Mac

As your new usage is going to happen in a few months, waiting does not seem to be a valid option?
Many people here, including me, say, if you need a machine, get a machine.
You could use the remaining time to look for a refurbished 16" model, saving some money and maybe not keeping it for 10 years again (depending on how things are going with Apple Silicon).

Concerning China, I am not of any help. Sorry ?

Le0M

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 13, 2020
As your new usage is going to happen in a few months, waiting does not seem to be a valid option?
Many people here, including me, say, if you need a machine, get a machine.
You could use the remaining time to look for a refurbished 16" model, saving some money and maybe not keeping it for 10 years again (depending on how things are going with Apple Silicon).

Concerning China, I am not of any help. Sorry ?