Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mac-lover3

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 2, 2014
Belgium
Hello everyone

I'm sorry to start another thread about this subject but that's partially what forums are for. Here we go: I'm in my last year and still have my MacBook Air from 2011 (1,6GHz i5, 4GB RAM, 128GB, Intel HD3000). While the laptop is still in good shape it's generally getting a lot slower. The battery is basically dead after 1300 cycles -according to Battery Health 2- also macOS says Condition: Replace Soon. It just hold for 2-3 hours and then the percentage is back at 0%. First I have no idea what it would cost to replace the battery at an APR or at the Apple Store, so I started looking for a replacement for next year.

OPTION 1:*

MacBook:
12" base model with an M3 (1,1GHz), 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD
= 1362€/1,525$
Upgrade to M7? + 280€ worth it?
OPTION 2:*

MacBook Air:
13" with an i5 (1,6GHz), 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD
= 1268€/1,440$

OPTION 3:*

MacBook Pro:
13" non Touch-Bar with an i5 (2,0 GHZ), 8GB RAM and 256GB SSD
=1597€/1,788.$

*NOTE: All models are with student pricing from the official Apple Store. 256GB is a necessity for me. I will be studying International Business Management and will be traveling to school every day by train and bus approximately 1,5hours a day. Also I live in Belgium a country where Apple doesn't offer refurbished Mac's as far as I know.

Also if I were to sell my MacBook Air what would it still be worth? No external damage whatsoever has been used a lot during its lifespan though.

Thanks for any input.

Mac-Lover3

Last edited:

keysofanxiety

macrumors G3
Nov 23, 2011
Personally I'd go for the 2016 13" non-Touchbar. Reasoning:

1) Battery life is ridiculous. Seriously, seriously good. One of my work colleagues was doing light coding & browsing and got 16 hours battery life from it. It has better battery life than the MacBook Retina too.