Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

anjanesh

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 20, 2010
Navi Mumbai
What is a good photo editing software for mac not for professionals like Photoshop ? I am using GIMP now but I don't mind paying a one-time fee for a good software but I definitely don't want to pay a subscription like for Photoshop.

Something that's available for both Intel (I currently have MBP 15") and M1/M2 (I intend on getting the 2022 MacBook Air)

anjanesh

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 20, 2010
Navi Mumbai
I am looking at Serif's Affinity Photo too - it has pixel-level preview + editing too which is something I want like the way I used to edit images in MS Paint in the 2000s.
1. Is Pixelmator Pro relatively simpler to use than Affinity ? I am not a heavy designer - just for editing images for websites and some basic photo edits for general use.
2. Do I need to buy an additional license for more than one of my own laptops ? Or one license like Sublime Text Editor ?

macrumors 6502a
Sep 12, 2015
Wales
Amateur myself, I dropped Photoshop essentials and went for affinity. Quite a lot of info on their website and forums are helpful.

Edit. Also have RAW power by gentlemen coders. Though I prefer Affinity. Both link out of Apple Photos when you want to edit.

Also with a look at Canon software if you use a Canon (think you need a canon serial number for the download?)

Puonti

macrumors 68000
Mar 14, 2011
I am looking at Serif's Affinity Photo too - it has pixel-level preview + editing too which is something I want like the way I used to edit images in MS Paint in the 2000s.
1. Is Pixelmator Pro relatively simpler to use than Affinity ? I am not a heavy designer - just for editing images for websites and some basic photo edits for general use.
2. Do I need to buy an additional license for more than one of my own laptops ? Or one license like Sublime Text Editor ?