Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

joelypolly

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 14, 2003
Bay Area
Got an MBA as a present a few days ago but I am struggling to think of really what to do with with it. I have a Macbook Pro already so it not as it I need another laptop to carry around. Also as the Air only has 2GB of ram which means I can't run it as a my main machine since I use VMWare a lot for work. Lastly the HD is only 128GB which is about 100GB too small for all my files.

But with that all said it is a damn sexy machine not to mention fast and quiet.

Any tips or hints on how I can move this into my workflow (btw I am a programmer for Windows and an occasional photographer)

ziggyonice

macrumors 68020
Mar 12, 2006
Rural America
Just start taking it with you. I've got a 15" MacBook Pro that I use as my production machine, but hate to lug it around. With an Air, you can just take it with you, or slip it in a backpack, or do whatever you'd like, and you don't even notice it.

sparkie7

macrumors 68020
Oct 17, 2008
4. Download MacMAME and start playing some 'ol classic arcade games like PacMan.
5. Combine 1+4 and all the chicks will come to you. Oh yeah :D

ayeying

macrumors 601
Dec 5, 2007
Yay Area, CA
Use it?

I use my air as a primary machine and work with vmware fusion and parallels desktop frequently. Besides the non stop 6200rpm fan, it runs great. But majority of my virtual machines are XP or Linux flavored. The most resource hungry would be my Windows 7 (Previously Vista) for beta testing

joelypolly

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 14, 2003
Bay Area
enjoying it so far

So far so good. I have really enjoyed using it. The keyboard does take a bit getting use to after using the old MBP keyboard.

I have to say the SSD simply makes this machine fly like no other machine I have used previously. There is like no wait for any file related activities it is simply amazing.