Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

immanence

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 12, 2008
I'm a graphic designer.

This is what I want to do:
1. I have a folder on an external drive where I keep stock photos.
2. I want that this folder is automatically available -- and remains updated with any changes I make to it -- in Photos app on my iPad Pro.

What I'm having problems with:
1. Getting an icloud folder to appear in Photos app on iOS.

What I have done:
1. I could find no way to automatically have the contents on my stock photos folder pulled into Photos on mac. So I am currently using Sync Folders Pro to sync that folder (and track changes to it) to my iCloud drive.
2. This works, so at least the folder is accessible via Files on my iPad Pro.
3. But I don't find a way to pull that folder into Photos app on iOS, so when I open Photos app, it is there, and synced with my mac/external drive folder.

Can anyone help with this?

Side issue: if anyone knows an app that would explicitly sync folders across the Apple ecology, I'd love to know of it.

And I wish Apple -- or app developers -- would add many more shortcuts along the lines of, "Pull this file into app X," etc. I have a great number of graphic design apps. But most of them only work from Photos. I wish they were more flexible.

Overall, I really struggle with inter-operability between my mac (my main work environment) and iOS where I have a lot of apps that can do quickly what would take longer to do on my mac.

adrianlondon

macrumors 603
Nov 28, 2013
Switzerland
I don't really understand what you're trying to do. It seems overly complex.

MacOS Photos can handle referenced photos (i.e. those stored not in the photo library but on your disk). iOS Photos can't. Doesn't matter where you put them.