Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

davestovies

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 1, 2024
Hi everyone.

I'm here with a slightly odd question regarding using Apple Script to carry out timed commands on the Playstation Remote Play application in a game. There's a post from a few years ago with a similar problem I've been trying to use as a guide, but I need help getting the script to run. For context, I have no previous experience with programming, so I've been using guides online to help with no success.

The idea was to use Apple Script to carry out timed commands through the PS Remote Play app, which would trigger in my game. The game is Yakuza 0, and there's a baseball minigame with fairly precise timing that's hard for me to pull off. Here's a video of the game for reference.

While looking around online, I found a post about using scripts for this exact purpose, inspired by the post from this site I linked earlier. I copied the Apple Script code left in the comments and tried running it, and nothing happened. I start the code and then switch to the Remote Play window, and nothing happens. I experimented with changing "System Event" to "RemotePlay" in the code, thinking that would trigger it, but it doesn't make any difference.

Below is the code that is supposed to work with Yakuza 0's batting minigame.
display dialog "Bring up your window where you want to play Baseball, you have 5 seconds to do so after pressing OK"

delay 5

if shiftKeyPressed() is true then exit repeat

tell
application "System Events" to keystroke return

delay 5.2

tell application "System Events" to keystroke return

delay 5

delay 5

delay 7

delay 5.248

delay 5

delay 5.1

delay 5

delay 5.72

display dialog "Script Ended"

--Actual shift key detection below

use framework "Foundation"

use framework "AppKit"

on shiftKeyPressed()

set |DnS| to current application