Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

What Image Type are You Shooting In?

• Total voters

BigMcGuire

Cancelled
Original poster
Jan 10, 2012
I started noticing that taking a photo with HEIC (for us 8, 8+'ers) vs JPG resulted in near identical photos in daylight. However, once I got inside the house at night, there was a noticeable difference in quality between the two photo types. .heic would be grainy, almost out of focus, and blurry while .jpg would be much sharper.

I noticed that for indoor shots the .heic would be 1mb while the .jpg would be 2.9mb - big size difference and a very noticeable quality difference on the phone's screen itself (blowing image to 100%). On the computer it is much much worse (heic being grainy, blurry, having loss of detail).

Instead of me posting my results and getting bashed for not being a pro (I am not a pro), I figured I'd cite others who have to be better than I am.

https://www.kirkville.com/do-heic-photos-really-look-this-bad/
https://forums.appleinsider.com/discussion/202158/watch-heif-vs-jpeg-on-iphone-8-compared
(Watch from 0 to 1:22).

I am definitely seeing this. JPG files are easily 2x bigger on average, sometimes more (some jpgs are 12+mb) while the .heic are usually 1mb - 6mb.

I've personally switched back to JPG because there is a HUGE difference (imo) in quality. And having a 256GB iPhone, size isn't a big worry.

What are you all doing? Have you noticed this?

Last edited:

tr1ad

macrumors newbie
Jun 9, 2017
Trinidad & Tobago
I've noticed since the 7 series, quality on the whole has decreased - resulting in grainy photos / watercolor looking shots which is a big disappointment

TL24

macrumors 65816
Oct 20, 2011
No issues with HEIF here in my 8+. I’ve done comparison on my end and found no differences in quality. Keep in mind that HEIF is able to capture a wider color gamut as well.

OneMike

macrumors 603
Oct 19, 2005