Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

zachlegomaniac

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 20, 2008
Hi there. I purchased a Sony Alpha a6000 in early 2015. I barely used it, unfortunately. I am now working on a project where photo quality (beyond what my iPhone 11 Pro can produce) would be a big advantage. I am a novice photographer. Is this still an excellent camera in 2022? It came with the standard 16-50mm power zoom lens. The project will require me to take pictures of flora and fauna in a wetland setting. If this camera is still great, and I can get someone to teach me my way around it, could someone here recommend a lens for macro photos (plants and insects) and a basic telephoto lens (wildlife)?

If the past seven years have offered major advancements in digital photography I'd also be interested in what folks here might recommend for a beginner like myself so I can create impressive reports.

Learning how to use a camera would be a big benefit to me in my field.

Thank you!

CK Williams

macrumors 6502a
Dec 27, 2008
Las Vegas
Hi zachlegomaniac,

The minimum focus distance for the lens that came with your camera may not allow you to take true macro photos. You may be able to crop the images though to give the appearance that it was taken much closer to the subject. Adding a zoom lens like the Sony 55-210 may be a simple way to get 'closer' to objects without actually having to be next to them. There are better quality (and more expensive) lenses available for the a6000, but I'd recommend moving slowly when purchasing new equipment in case you decide to change cameras later.

You can use the images posted here in the forums like the Photo of the Day as references to give you ideas on what type of photos you would like to take. I highly doubt that any of the members would mind answering questions about the way they took the photo.