Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Compile

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 30, 2013
Hello all I've been a long time lurker.
Let me get down to it.

I previously had a 2007 MBP, unfortunately it died on me almost 2 years ago. I had them purchased a custom gaming laptop (Sager if anyone is asking) which is a desktop replacement. It's a pretty heavy machine to lug around (~9lbs) and the battery life is less then 2 hours.

I am currently a college student taking programming (C\C++, Java, web languages, oracle, C#) and I'm a bit stumped on what kind of MB I want. I love the Air's form factor, but I'm unsure if it's enough power for my needs. I have a desktop which I will be doing most of my compiling. I'm also stuck whether to wait for the new MBP or just get an Air.

I would be getting 8gb of ram and 256gb SSD in either model as I don't need more room then that (I use a Synology NAS to store all my files).

I haven't played a game on my current laptop since about 2 months after I bought it. I won't be playing anything on my new Apple product, so besides programming, I will be surfing and watching the occasional movie. 13" is more then enough for me.

Please help!

Last edited:

yosemit

macrumors regular
Jul 19, 2013
I use Eclipse to do Java and C/C++ programming on my 2013 11-in air, i7/8GB/256GB (with a big external monitor). The new Air is overpowered for this job. :rolleyes: I think i5 is sufficient too, but make sure you get the 8GB.

For programmers, the new Air it is super quite, no fan noise at all. That helps me concentrate on programming.