Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Macmaniac

macrumors 68040
Original poster
I just joined Folding to help out but I'm alittle confused! I don't know how to download a WU, I think I have one but i'm not sure. This is the pic of what its showing. Do I have a WU? or how do I connect to get one?
Thx

Attachments

• picture-1.gif
    picture-1.gif
    40.4 KB · Views: 256

backspinner

macrumors 6502a
Apr 29, 2002
Eindhoven
Re: Help I'm new with Folding!

Everything is OK, you are folding! If you have a working internet connection it will connect automaticly. By now the progress bar will be some percent further I guess. The team number is correct, and you are working on a fold with some parameters of the named protein. The picture of the "screensaver" is fake, don't expect the thing you are working on will look like that. The screensaver is just consuming your processor time and showing you some nice piece of nature...

Macmaniac

macrumors 68040
Original poster
I'm probably being stupid but do you always have to be online to do folding or does it dowload like SETI?
All I see is it saying
benchmarking....
and my progress is 0.0%
Is it downloading the file?
Nothing see,s to be happening!
I will keep it running to see what happens

MacAztec

macrumors 68040
Oct 28, 2001
San Luis Obispo, CA
WTF!!

Ok, I have Folding@home. I am using the graphic version, and I have had it running for about 4 days during the days. I put my comp to sleep at night.

Now, this is a G4 400MHz with 768MB of RAM. The task bar shows 31.00% done, is this right??

4 days for one WU?!?!?

Is folding control or folding console faster?

Please help me out, i'm getting frustrated!

mc68k

macrumors 68000
Apr 16, 2002
Originally posted by Macmaniac
I left my internet connection on for a half an hour with it saying
Loading Benchmarking.