Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kk3833

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2018
I am in a dilemma. I am a photographer + videographer using Premiere Pro to edit videos. I am about to go on a month tour where photo + video content is needed daily.

Specs on my current MBP:

Model: MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2010) OS: macOS High Sierra v10.13.5 Processor: 2.4 GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3 Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M 256 MB Intel HD Graphics 288 MB Storage: 1 TB SSD (Currently 150GB of available space >.< I know, I know, I need to make more space. Which I plan to do before I leave on tour in August. I plan to have at least 500GB of open space on my SSD)

Questions:

1. Can I make this current MBP any faster while on the road? (I'll be on a tour bus, some outlets, but will be operating portable equipment)

2. Do I wait till, August, Septemeber, God knows when (this year? hopefully) for a new MBP 2018 model?

3. Buy a 15" MBP with the following specs:
Touch Bar and Touch ID
3.1GHz quad-core 7th-generation Intel Core i7 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.1GHz
16GB 2133MHz LPDDR3 memory
1TB SSD storage
Radeon Pro 560 with 4GB memory
Four Thunderbolt 3 ports
Backlit Keyboard
US English Accessory Kit
Force Touch trackpad

I know if I buy the above MBP, it'll for sure be better than what I have now. But with the keyboard issue going on, and the recent discovery of 5 new MB's coming out, I'm so eager to wait. I really don't know what is the best move here. The next laptop I buy will last me as long as I've had this mid-2010.

Your thoughts, advice, and time are appreciated!

czerney

macrumors regular
Mar 14, 2009
My only thought is that if you buy new now and have a critical keyboard issue on the road you'll be stuck.