Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Anas KASMI

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 24, 2020
Hello everyone,
I am new to the apple world and I need some assistance to buy a used MacBook pro,
my limited budget ($1100) left me with two choices and I can't decide yet,
so I thought I may get some help here

the options I have is a MacBook pro-2016 with the following specs :
- 15 inches
- 16gb RAM
- 750Gb SSD
- 2 graphic cards
- i7 processor with 2.7hz speed
- 10 cycles in batterie (I suppose it was replaced)

the second option is a mac book pro 2015 with the following specs :
- 15 inches
- 16gb RAM
- 500 GB SSD
- 1 graphic card only
- i7 processor with 2.5hz speed
- 300 cycles in batterie (+5h of normal usage which is enough for me)

I am a mobile developer and a dedicated graphics card is not that important for me I care more about ram capacity which I have in both options.
the difference between the two MacBooks is only $100 ( the 2016 model is the one who is more expensive of course).

at first, I assumed that the 2016 model was the best choice for me but I read that it has some serious issues in the keyboard and also the screen cable and they are hard to fix (need full replacement),
while 2015 model reviews encouraged me a lot (durability, USB ports..)
so should I sacrifice the (+150gb of SSD, new battery, dedicated graphic card, touch bar, and the massive touchpad that I like a lot ) of the 2016 models and buy the 2015 models, Or these issues are just rummers and the 2016 model is good for me?
if you had tested any of the above models please give me your feedback I will appreciate it.

lagisibuk

macrumors 6502
Jun 25, 2013
Hello everyone,
I am new to the apple world and I need some assistance to buy a used MacBook pro,

- 15 inches
- 16gb RAM
- 750Gb SSD
- 2 graphic cards

- 15 inches
- 16gb RAM
- 500 GB SSD
- 1 graphic card only