Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CaptainProton

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 1, 2017
Hey, guys! Mac noob here.

I'm strongly considering changing allegiances, mainly because I'm a designer and want to use Sketch.

The questions I have are as follows:
  1. I have two Dell U2713HM 27" monitors with 2560x1440 WQHD resolution. If I buy the new iMac with 27" 5k screen, I would also want to retain a similar setup and have another 27" screen along with it. Does this second screen also need to be 5k? Can both monitors be balanced so that the application sizes look the same on both screens, regardless of different pixel densities?

For example, I would not like to drag a window from one to another screen and have it zoom in and out because of the difference.

2. The mouse that I use and am in love with is Anker vertical mouse (click to visit the product page) because it single-handedly solved my Carpal tunnel syndrome issues. However, if you look at the link, the thumb buttons that I use all the time are not supported. Is this definitive, or are there any other ways these buttons can be activated using some 3rd party programs?

3. How effective is fusion drive as opposed to going full SSD? I don't feel the need to have every file open in a split second. What I do want is to have the OS boot from the SSD, as well as my programs. I also intend to go with 3 TB version, so the 128 GB SSD should be more than enough for my needs.

My friend, however, convinces me that SSD is still a better option. Given that I will mainly use this computer for graphic design with Sketch, and not some high-level video or audio editing, do you still think that going full SSD is worth it?