Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yellow

Moderator emeritus
Original poster
Oct 21, 2003
Portland, OR
So, here is what we have:

We have an establishd AD domain, which users authenticate against.
We have a department that has data stored on a Windows 2003 server running Services for Macintosh, and they just about all have illegal characters in the files names, and therefore cannot be moved to a straight SMB share because of data/filename dependencies. We inherited this department from an outside group.
Our Windows server admins won't be allowing Services for Macintosh on the new servers, so we purchased an XServe for them so I can do AFP shares for their existing data.
The XServe has a RAID card in it and 3x 750GB HDs.
I have no practical experience with OS X Server beyond the Server Essentials class, which doesn't really cover the conceptual stuff, only the practical applicaitons of OS X Server basics.

Here is what I am trying to accomplish:

Users connect to this server to get to the AFP share. But they can use the same username and password from the AD domain.. automagically. I'd prefer not to have to recreate each account manually. Is this possible to do? Do I bind the OD to AD, thereby allowing the users that exist in AD to use that authentication to get to their AFP shares on this XServe? Perhaps I only need to kerberize this XServe to accomplishg this end? Can I even use AD to authenticate users on the OD for AFP shares only?

Use the RAID card and HDs to their most effective use. Should I have 1 RAID (1) Set that includes 2 disks and store their data on that RAID Volume and have the OS on a separate volume? Or should I have 1 RAID (5) Set that includes all 3 disks? Currently I am leaning towards the latter, this department needs to be able to get to their data.

Thanks for any help.