Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

blackaiges

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 1, 2022
Please bear with me as I am extremely new to this.

I jailbroke through unc0ver. Recently I wanted to completely wipe my ipad pro 2018 clean. These are the steps i took:

1.Re-Jailbroke (after a while Altstore loses it certificate and cydia, unc0ver crashes) and re-installed unc0ver.
2. Turned everything off but rootfs - then proceeded with it.
3. DFU mode itunes factory reset.
4. DID NOT back up with itunes or iCloud but set up as new ipad.

*I did have icloud with backups but never manually back it up. I did backup my ipad to itunes through pc*

After loggin in with my AppleID I was shocked to find my safari history, reading lists were all still intact along with my photos - this is definitely some iCloud auto-sync mechanism.

Question:
Do i still have any remnants of Jailbreak files on my ipad? Apparently files are stored in var/preferences or something but idk what that is. Is there a way to clean your iCloud and Itunes of ALL Jailbreak data/files on pc? Does deleting all files/backups achieve this?

Thank you so much in advance.

bradl

macrumors 603
Jun 16, 2008
Please bear with me as I am extremely new to this.

I jailbroke through unc0ver. Recently I wanted to completely wipe my ipad pro 2018 clean. These are the steps i took:

1.Re-Jailbroke (after a while Altstore loses it certificate and cydia, unc0ver crashes) and re-installed unc0ver.
2. Turned everything off but rootfs - then proceeded with it.
3. DFU mode itunes factory reset.
4. DID NOT back up with itunes or iCloud but set up as new ipad.

*I did have icloud with backups but never manually back it up. I did backup my ipad to itunes through pc*

After loggin in with my AppleID I was shocked to find my safari history, reading lists were all still intact along with my photos - this is definitely some iCloud auto-sync mechanism.