Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

prostuff1

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 29, 2005
Don't step into the kawoosh...
OK the story:
My grandfather died about 2 years ago now. My dad has a really nice picture of my grandfather and him together and he wants me to put his brothers in the picture also. (i.e. he wants me to remove him and put one brother in the pic then take that brother out and put the other one in). In other words he wants me to make pics for each of the brothers with them and grandfather standing together.

I am by no means a pro at this and am having problems making things look close to real. I am using photoshop at my school to do it but i need to help/suggestions on making things look as normal as possible.

My dad wants this done ASAP so he can put them in a card and send them to the brothers for christmas. I think it is a great idea and i dont mind helping but my skills are no where near good enough.

I thought about moving grandpa out of the pic and then placeing each of the brothers on a separte background.

Thanks for any help that can be given!!!

P.S. Actual pics attached

Attachments

• Grandpa and dad1.jpg
    Grandpa and dad1.jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 371
  • Ryan and rod.jpg
    Ryan and rod.jpg
    54.1 KB · Views: 344
  • background.jpg
    background.jpg
    67.2 KB · Views: 339

Lacero

macrumors 604
Jan 20, 2005
That's going to be tough to pull off, even for a seasoned professional. Some things to consider that make a composite look real is how the lighting and shadow falls across the faces, the grain and density of the photos, color balance, and basic sharpness.

It'll never look totally real. You can try putting together a montage, which may be better.

Here's to the Crazy Ones

Blue Velvet

Moderator emeritus
Jul 4, 2004