Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lmike6453

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 19, 2019
Hello, first time Mac noob here! I'm in the market for a Macbook Pro primarily for coding / Linux application development and integration. Some things I'll be doing also is running multiple applications for learning / testing (Docker apps, Apache Kafka, Ansible provisioning, Web apps, etc).

I've also come to learn that it can replace my primary desktop for 4k gaming which would be great, and has me thinking about bumping up specs (or maxing out) since my current desktop CPU / RAM is from 2012, a 3rd generation ivy bridge i7 w/ DDR3 memory. But 2 1080 SLI video cards (not ti) that I would probably sell or use 1 in an egpu enclosure.

Direct questions that would help me put things in perspective:

1. 16G vs. 32G Decision:
How much memory does Macbook's use in comparison to Windows 10 / Fedora Linux for my situation? Go 32G?

2. Radon Pro 560x vs. Vega 20:
Can the Macbook utilize BOTH the dedicated internal Vega 20 card and the egpu simultaneously while gaming, like an SLI / Crossfire setup?

3. Should I consider buying a used MBP instead for my needs specifically to save money?

Thanks!
Mike

robvas

macrumors 68040
Mar 29, 2009
USA
1) how should we know how much memory you will need

2) no

3) yes, but if I were in your situation I would buy a Dell/Lenovo and run Linux on it...

iMacDragon

macrumors 68020
Oct 18, 2008
UK
Remember that linux at present at least can only really be run in a VM on the 2018 macs

leman

macrumors Core
Oct 14, 2008
I'm in the market for a Macbook Pro primarily for coding / Linux application development and integration.

If you work with Linux/for Linux primarily, why not getting a machine that runs Linux?

I've also come to learn that it can replace my primary desktop for 4k gaming which would be great