Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jesseandcatie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 27, 2005
OK...I'm hardly a programmer, but I have to take a JAVA class as part of my Masters Degree and I'm having issues getting 1.5.0 to be recognized in Eclipse. If anyone has experience with this, could you please help. I have set 1.5.0 as the Default, but Eclipse is not seeing it under its preferences. When I search for it under the Installed JREs menu I get:
"No JREs found in /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.5.0/Home"
This is the similar directory that is used for the older JREs, so I don't know what to do. 5.0 is set as the default everywhere else, just not in Eclipse. This means much of my code will not compile making it a little cumbersome to test out my programs. I'm relatively new to Macs and I'm not a programmer to begin with so this is about as easy for me as deciphering hieroglyphics.

Anyone that has a clue, please help! Thanks

Jesse

Heath

macrumors regular
Aug 19, 2005
Canada
Java 1.5 on OSX

jesseandcatie said:
OK...I'm hardly a programmer, but I have to take a JAVA class as part of my Masters Degree and I'm having issues getting 1.5.0 to be recognized in Eclipse. If anyone has experience with this, could you please help. I have set 1.5.0 as the Default, but Eclipse is not seeing it under its preferences. When I search for it under the Installed JREs menu I get:
"No JREs found in /System/Library/Frameworks/JavaVM.framework/Versions/1.5.0/Home"
This is the similar directory that is used for the older JREs, so I don't know what to do. 5.0 is set as the default everywhere else, just not in Eclipse. This means much of my code will not compile making it a little cumbersome to test out my programs. I'm relatively new to Macs and I'm not a programmer to begin with so this is about as easy for me as deciphering hieroglyphics.

Anyone that has a clue, please help! Thanks