Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jlames

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 26, 2020
I’ve not been keeping up with current models, content with my 2012 dual core Mac Tower upgraded to run Mojave with 96M memory and 4TB old-style storage for my FCPX, Illustrator, Photoshop, Lightroom and the like but it’s slowing down now and I can’t load the latest versions of the software I mentioned. We’ve had a website and YT channel that we’ve been maintaining at AmesGroupUSA.com seemingly forever and I’m a semi-retired real estate lawyer but with an avocation of A/V and internet production dating back to the late 90s. I don’t really care about 4k for what I do today and it’s just time to get a new system. I’m thinking a used or refurbished Mac Studio but I really don’t know. Anything you all can suggest.

Last edited:

profcutter

macrumors 65816
Mar 28, 2019
Yes, a refurbed Mac Studio would run circles around the machine you’re using. You say you’re not worried about 4K, which is fine. What format are you using? Are you capturing footage into the machine with a capture card, or just taking SD cards from the camera to load into the editor? If the latter, it’s a pretty simple upgrade, just choose specs that you want for the studio. If you’re using HDSDI or something, you’ll want to be sure you can get that into your new machine with a dongle or external accessory.

Most storage can be adapted to be used externally, but you’ll need enclosures for your 4tbs of hard drives. You could also just get an external 4tb ssd and use that for footage.

Jlames

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 26, 2020