Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Suspended
Original poster
Jun 23, 2016
New York and Berlin
Many have been asking how to setup your SmartHome devices using iOS 10's "Home" app. As I'm a smart home enthusiast and beta tester/designer/programmer, I've been working in this subfield for a few years. Here's a list of my SmartHome devices and how to properly configure your smart home using iOS 10 "Home". Step 3 is especially important in initially setting up your smart home. Hope it helps.

Configuring Your "Home" in iOS 10

Beta tested iOS 10 on numerous devices
:
2x iPhone 6, iPod Touch 6th Gen (Current), 2x iPad Air 2, Apple TV 4

My Home Automation Devices:

- Philips Hue Bridge 2.0 (HomeKit MFi Compliant)
- August HomeKit Lock (2nd Gen) x2 (HomeKit MFi Compliant)
- ecobee3 HomeKit thermostat w/ x3 Remote Sensors (HomeKit MFi Compliant)
- HikVision Outdoor 2-Way Audio 1080p IP Cam w/ Night Vision x2 (Surveillance Station on a Synology DS716+)
- Chamberlain MyQ for Liftmaster Garage Doors and Gates
- Nest Protects x5
- Amazon "Alexa"

Since iOS Beta 1, the Home app has worked on all devices perfectly. It's tricky when first setting up but follow these steps:

1. Update all devices to iOS 10
2. Connect all devices on the same wireless network
3. Log out all accounts on all devices (Clean slate is necessary as one device will be designated as "Primary" using the iCloud account on that device with "Home" checked in "iCloud Settings"). This is especially important as some devices already configured may delete your HomeKit setup (ecobee3 HomeKit and others do this when removing device from "HomeKit") or interfere with the process. The initial setup may require 1-2 hours of your time as you familiarize yourself with the new app and shouldn't rush the process.
4. Decide which iOS device to setup HomeKit (Used my iPod touch 6th Gen)
5. Open the "Home" app and follow instructions: