Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

marcusique

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 17, 2021
… but she is not. I’m fairly new to HomeKit and I’ve recently bought a security camera (VOCOlinc VC1 Opto) and connected it to HomeKit. The streaming settings that I have right now are:

• Off when somebody is at home
  • Stream and record when no one is at home
Whenever we leave home HomeKit doesn’t change the streaming settings, so the camera is basically off all the time. I did a lot of troubleshooting and what I noticed is that when I remove my family member from home sharing it works perfectly fine. It knows well when I leave and when I come back and it adjusts accordingly. But whenever I add my family member to home sharing – it gets disabled right away. I suspect there’s something wrong with her phone setup, but everything looks completely fine: all location services are on, home address is up-to-date in her contact card, location sharing is on under Find My. I compared all settings and they are exactly the same as mine. We run iOS 14.6 and use our Apple TV 4K 2nd gen. as a home hub. Any advice?

Attachments

• 0C958BB0-11F3-44E5-AEC2-84ABEA072145.png
    0C958BB0-11F3-44E5-AEC2-84ABEA072145.png
    918.7 KB · Views: 327

marcusique

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 17, 2021
Does she have an iPad that stays at home that is set as the primary device for location?
No. She has an iPhone and Apple Watch that are always with her when she’s away.
I did some research and found out that Apple TV proved to be buggy when set to be the home hub. Not sure if that’s my case, might as well try to reset it to see if it works.

Itinj24

Contributor
Nov 8, 2017
New York
No. She has an iPhone and Apple Watch that are always with her when she’s away.