Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NLLV

macrumors regular
Original poster
Sep 16, 2020
No one seems to mention this but I make videos for a living so let this be a word of caution.

Cinematic video is an absolute BREAKTHROUGH for creators.

The tech is amazing but it stops being amazing when you want to actually work with the video outside of the native photos and camera app.

1. Using in other apps.

I have a subscription to an app that won’t even recognize these video files. I mean it sees them but won’t import them at all.

Other apps need to flatten and convert the video on the fly when you want to use them.

Some apps are fast and others slow. Like waiting twenty minutes for Facebook to work with a file slow.

2. Exporting to a Mac

This is the biggest joke of of them all.

If you want to export the file and retain the cinematic mode, you need to do one of two things:

a) use airdrop. This requires you to wait for the file to process before the transfer starts.

That means if your phone goes to sleep and you wait it you’re kicked out of the “processing” screen back to the Home Screen.

You can go back into photos and start again and the file will quickly catch up to where it was (the process of converting the export didn’t STOP) and you will still wait.

I’ve waited twenty minutes for a ten minute file to export. That’s before actual air drop starts.

So ten minutes of video takes twenty minutes and I want to shoot a total of an hour. That’s 2 hours to process and export video. No kidding.

b) Use the photos app

When you plug the phone into the computer it might tell you that some cinematic videos need to be processed.

They don’t appear in the photos app until you do the processing ON THE PHONE.

So we’re back to the previous step where we are waiting for a shareable version to be processed on the device.