Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sai_digitalle

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2004
What's up guys? I'm a newbie to the Macmizzle life. I'm buying a G5 moving from my G4 which i only owned for a year. How do I keep it running smoothly? I know on a PC after I install new programs, i can run defrags, disck clean-ups etc..

But on a Mac, how do i go about doing these things? Also, on my primary hard drive, how should I set it up for optimum performance and speed? I know on a pc, it's good to set up virtual memory partition on a seperate drive because it helps with performance.

As I said before, my G5 Quad is coming in on this monday (nov 21). I plan to purchase an additional internal hard drive (300 GB Maxtor), 8 GB's of RAM, and I have 2 firewire external drives (Lacie & Acomdata), and an external DVD-R drive (Lacie).

I want my system to run tip top. What periodic steps should i take, and what programs do you guys recommend?

Thanks a million ~ Sai

iHateWindows

macrumors 6502
May 11, 2005
sai_digitalle said:
What's up guys? I'm a newbie to the Macmizzle life. I'm buying a G5 moving from my G4 which i only owned for a year. How do I keep it running smoothly? I know on a PC after I install new programs, i can run defrags, disck clean-ups etc..

But on a Mac, how do i go about doing these things? Also, on my primary hard drive, how should I set it up for optimum performance and speed? I know on a pc, it's good to set up virtual memory partition on a seperate drive because it helps with performance.

As I said before, my G5 Quad is coming in on this monday (nov 21). I plan to purchase an additional internal hard drive (300 GB Maxtor), 8 GB's of RAM, and I have 2 firewire external drives (Lacie & Acomdata), and an external DVD-R drive (Lacie).

I want my system to run tip top. What periodic steps should i take, and what programs do you guys recommend?

Thanks a million ~ Sai