Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mike Boreham

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Aug 10, 2006
UK
I am using my AirPort Extreme (last version) as a router (with wifi off) to connect my my BT Whole Home Mesh wireless access point system.

I currently have a Virgin Super Hub 3 in modem mode.

Next week I am receiving a Virgin Hub 5 and I am wondering whether to ditch the AirPort Extreme and use the Hub 5 as my router, still using the BT Mesh.

I am concerned that the AirPort Extreme is several years old and not had any updates for some years, while the Hub 5 is supposed to be Virgins latest and greatest. OTOH I have a Fing subscription which analyses the performance and security of my network continuously and gives it a clean bill of health.

Thanks for any advice or opinions?

Mike Boreham

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Aug 10, 2006
UK
You right Airport is very old now! 2012 is calling you back dude! I say g with a modern Wi-Fi 6 router or mesh mode router that still gets updates! to be cutting g edge look at he new Synology RT6600ax!
Thanks! After my excellent experience with the BT Mesh I don't think I could go back to single point WiFi which that Synology is AFAICT.

Any recommendations for a cutting edge WiFi 6 Mesh Router?

Mark Anderson

Suspended
Aug 24, 2022
Minneapolis