Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

KittenKrusher

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 24, 2005
I am currently a freshman at a University and so far my major is marked down to Information Systems Management. More specificly Web Development.

Now ISM is more on the Business Managing side than the techy side (Information Science). I would love for that to be my career but I would also like to make some money.

I just wanted to ask you people who do this for a living, how is the business these days? It seems to me that it isn't to good anymore since just about anyone can make a website, or atleast learn easily so therefore no need to hire someone to do it.

plinden

macrumors 601
Apr 8, 2004
"just about anyone" can put up a couple of HTML pages and call it a website, but it takes more than that to develop a secure, high availability, ecommerce website that can handle several hundred thousand requests a minute.

Rower_CPU

Moderator emeritus
Oct 5, 2001
San Diego, CA
plinden said:
"just about anyone" can put up a couple of HTML pages and call it a website, but it takes more than that to develop a secure, high availability, ecommerce website that can handle several hundred thousand requests a minute.

True, but how much of that capacity lies on the hardware side of the equation?

Besides...how many jobs are out there for companies with that kind of traffic? Very few, I'd imagine. From what I've seen, there's much more work to be had with small to medium-sized businesses that don't necessarily need e-commerce at all.

rozwell

macrumors regular
Apr 17, 2004