Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gusping

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 12, 2012
Hi,

I'm studying economics at uni and am tempted to sell my iPad Air 2 and buy a Pro but had one question. I often need to draw graphs/diagrams and annotate them with labels, so was wondering how easy it is to write reasonably small, but legible writing for when i'm annotating. I never really write full sentences, it would be for the odd word or phrase. I guess you can pinch to zoom, then write so the words are smaller?

Thanks

dalcorn1

macrumors regular
Jul 10, 2008
The iPad is the same size as an A4 sketchbook and the pencil writes almost as well as pen, including doing full stops which is something every stylus i have ever used struggles with.

dalcorn1

macrumors regular
Jul 10, 2008
Just as a follow up to this I've been trying my pencil out for the first time tonight. In the apple notes app I am able to write as clearly and as small as i physically can in real life. Couldn't write any smaller if I tried, and it's indistinguishable from what I could write on paper.

Tried similar in the photoshop sketch app and whilst the end result was the same, the drawing animation wasnt as good. Letters seemed to pop in rather than follow the nib of the pen like in apple notes.

Gav2k

macrumors G3
Jul 24, 2009
Just as a follow up to this I've been trying my pencil out for the first time tonight. In the apple notes app I am able to write as clearly and as small as i physically can in real life. Couldn't write any smaller if I tried, and it's indistinguishable from what I could write on paper.

Tried similar in the photoshop sketch app and whilst the end result was the same, the drawing animation wasnt as good. Letters seemed to pop in rather than follow the nib of the pen like in apple notes.
This is due to apps not yet being updated so Photoshop is in finger mode so to speak

gusping

macrumors 68000