Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Hoppimike

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 25, 2014
Kent, UK
I am new to Apple products but really love 7. I only have an iPhone 4S, and it's telling me that 8.0.2 is available but not forcing me to actually do the upgrade, and I don't want to do it because I know it will slow down my device.

On Android, you can run quite an old version and still get updates to your apps. Does it work like this at all on iOS?

For example, if somebody is still on iOS 6... will they still get updates if the app provider is happy to support that release? Or does Apple push/encourage developers to only support 8?

I'm confused lol

Tubamajuba

macrumors 68020
Jun 8, 2011
here
I am new to Apple products but really love 7. I only have an iPhone 4S, and it's telling me that 8.0.2 is available but not forcing me to actually do the upgrade, and I don't want to do it because I know it will slow down my device.

On Android, you can run quite an old version and still get updates to your apps. Does it work like this at all on iOS?

For example, if somebody is still on iOS 6... will they still get updates if the app provider is happy to support that release? Or does Apple push/encourage developers to only support 8?

I'm confused lol

You can certainly get updates for as long as the app developers support it. Apple doesn't push developers to only support the latest version, and usually the developers support at least one major version back. With iOS 7, it was a bit different, likely due to the major redesign. That said, some new apps support versions all the way back to iOS 5. It all depends on the app.

Check out this thread for people's thoughts on iOS 8 on the 4S. Most of the thread consists of people that are wary of updating, but the last three or so pages seem to be a bit more positive: https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/1757284/

thedeejay

macrumors 65816
Aug 16, 2012