Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

How Many Personal Assistants Do You Use/Want To Use?

• None - I'm not presently interested

Votes: 5 27.8%
  • One - I like to keep it simple

Votes: 7 38.9%
  • Two - I mix it up a little

Votes: 3 16.7%
  • Three or More - It's Downton Abbey up in here

Votes: 3 16.7%

• Total voters

jeremiah256

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Aug 2, 2008
Southern California
This is an interest of mine since I want to get more into the Internet of Things (IoT) and want to start off with home and personal automation. I'm no expert on any of the assistants, and hopefully, this thread will provide myself and others who are interested, a way to expand our knowledge.

At present, I personally use Siri and Google Assistant quite a bit. Siri is my on-the-go hands free assistant for sending messages, getting information and directions, and to activate certain apps, such as music. I'm looking forward to using my basic Workflow skills into playing with the new Shortcuts functionality in iOS 12.

At home, I use Google Assistant the most. I have a Google Home Mini and the app on my phone. I use Google Assistant, combined with two Chromecasts, for getting information, simple tasks and entertainment. Using voice only, I can access a good portion of my media and use the basic routines the Home Mini provides for when you wake up, come home, and go to bed.

I presently don't have much of a use case for Cortana or Alexa, but as Amazon almost gives away extremely cheap Alexa devices, and I have Amazon Prime, I can see myself putting one in the kitchen and using it as a cooking/shopping assistant.

Cortana is a more difficult assistant to integrate. I do use Microsoft Office as my main productivity suite, but using Cortana at work would be awkward, and I don't understand the functionality enough to use it in my home office.