Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VillalobosChamp

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2017
Mexico City, Mexico
Hello.

I wanted to ask, how much can I use my Macbook Pro safely without changing the battery that is already dead?

I'm a newbie on the Mac products, i got a 15-inch Mid 2010 Macbook as a birthday's gift for school uses.

It has been 2 years since I got it, and haven't got any serious problems (other than reset SMC maybe 5 times within this span or a total disk formatting due corrupted files). But now my battery is dead and can't use my computer without being plugged.

I tried to reset SMC as well as PVRAM to check it wasn't any other thing that prevented my battery from charging, but none worked.

I read what can happen if a dead battery stays for a long time, but I want to know how much time can I afford to use it without damaging the computer, since this is my work tool and there's no other available PC at home, and we can't afford a battery anytime soon.

Thanks for reading, I hope you can provide me some useful insight.

Cheers :)

Stefan johansson

macrumors 65816
Apr 13, 2017
Sweden
If the battery is just uncharged,that should not be a problem,if the battery is broken,replace it immediately. If it's just dead from battery drain,just use the computer,it will charge while you use it.

Sanpete

macrumors 68040
Nov 17, 2016
Utah
There's no good way to give a timetable, as far as I know. The main danger I can see is from leakage, which old batteries can do. Checking on it once in a while, including watching for signs of swelling, might do, depending on how much risk you want to accept. The low-risk thing is to replace it, being careful not to damage something in the process.

Ovedius

macrumors 6502
Aug 2, 2012
Norway
I wonder if you could remove the battery and still operate the machine while plugged in.