Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ZestyOne

macrumors regular
Original poster
Oct 18, 2009
Paradise
I'm building an audio player on both mobile platforms: iOS + Android. For right now I'm just interested in iOS.

These are the features I will have. If it makes it simpler to think about, it will be exactly like how Spotify functions (see screenshots below).

Here are the features anyway:

• Working play queue/playlist
  • Play / pause
  • Shuffle / repeat
  • Skip / previous
  • Scrubbing via dragging in the UI
  • Auto buffering next song (maybe?)
  • Different quality options
  • Play music when app is closed, including navigating to next/previous song on playlist

I'm not a native developer though, and I'm trying to just research to find information on what to tell my developers on the course of action they should choose, and I'm having a lot of difficulty grasping these concepts.

Fast sidenote: my app deals with actual 'tracks', it doesn't deal with continuous streaming type stuff like a continuous news channel stream or anything.

Here are the questions I have...

1. What are the pros and cons of using an `m3u/m3u8` playlist, vs streaming an mp3 file? Is one of these obviously better than the other, given the features I need above? I'm having difficulty whether to choose streaming mp3's, m3u, or m3u8.
  2. It's my understanding that HLS automatically chooses the right bitrate. I see many audio players however let the user choose which quality to use in the settings pane (high/med/low). Does this imply these apps are not using HLS? Which of the above 3 options do you think the majority of apps use?
  3. I wanted to offer 3 qualities similar to Spotify (96, 160, 320 kbps). Are there limitations of doing this while streaming mp3's?