Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

villur

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 5, 2014
Not sure if this is the right sub-forum to post in but here goes:

Im wondering if there are any resource hungry and just things I don't use like iCloud and etc I can turn off. Im an IT student, studying software development and I strictly do only school stuff on my mac.
For security and performance reasons are there things I can do? I did some digging around on google and found threads that were from 2008 and 2009 with no useful information. I mean with every update they add things from iOS to macOS which seems like a lot of unnecessary clutter I'm never going to use anyway and they must be using some resources and associated services, right?

keysofanxiety

macrumors G3
Nov 23, 2011
Bad idea, you'll just do more damage and make things run slower. New OS features aren't just an app that can be turned on or off. They're built into the operating system and linked with lots of other bits and pieces. You'll just be playing Jenga with the system stability.

If you're having issues with the system running slowly, upgrade to an SSD & max the RAM if you haven't already. Otherwise you can disable startup items through System Preferences> Users & Groups. Run volume verifications/repairs through Disk Utility or DiskWarrior. Even shutting down regularly would make a positive difference. Update to the latest version of macOS too.

robgendreau

macrumors 68040
Jul 13, 2008
Seems like considerable work for almost no gain. Have you examined Activitiy Monitor? That should show you all you need to know...provided you understand it.

kschendel

macrumors 65816
Dec 9, 2014
You can turn off Spotlight indexing if you don't need it, and you've already mentioned iCloud. Other than that, there really aren't any services or daemons that use up much in the way of resources.

Ebenezum

macrumors 6502a
Mar 31, 2015
OP: