Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

erickarroqui

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 8, 2013
Good day!
This is my first thread here.

I have a little problem to solve and I am relatively new to OS X so haven't figured it out yet.

I want to install Windows 7 through BootCamp.

To do so, BootCamp Assistant tells me I should only have a single partition on the disk.

It happens I have a second partition called "Backup" (which I created). I can't delete it for some reason. I don't exactly remember the error but it was something like "the changes are too small".

If I do "diskutil list" it shows that I have in 1st place the original partition, in 2nd place the Recovery Partition and in 3rd place this backup partition.

How do I do to keep the Recovery Partition, delete the "Backup partition" and keep all the files on the first partition?

Thanks a lot and sorry for my English. :)

Last edited:

nyolc8

macrumors regular
Jul 20, 2012
I think it's not really possible. (maybe I'm wrong but as I know, it's not possible)

erickarroqui

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 8, 2013
And what if I deleted the recovery partition? Will I be able to restore it later?

Thanks for your time nyolc8!

benwiggy

macrumors 68020
Jun 15, 2012
I don't think you can do a "live" repartition of this sort without wiping the data. Even if you could, it's unwise to attempt a repartitioning without having a backup incase something goes wrong. So you will need all your data cloned or backed up on another drive. (You will of course have a backup elsewhere anyway. ;))

So, repartition the drive and restore your files. I think I'm right in saying that reinstalling OS X will create a Recovery Partition, if it's not present.

One final note: a backup partition on the same physical disk as the source data is worthless. If the drive fails, you will lose both partitions.

erickarroqui

macrumors newbie
Original poster