Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Hoff

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 24, 2018
I have a MBP with High Sierra.

How do I set up a VM on that machine that also runs High Sierra?

I have no experience with VM's.

Last edited:

Hoff

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 24, 2018
I'm guessing I just buy Parallels and install that?

How do I get the High Sierra OS to install inside that?

Thanks

Brian33

macrumors 65816
Apr 30, 2008
USA (Virginia)
This should be possible with either Parallels or VMWare Fusion. I'm not sure, but it could be that the latest versions might not run on your older host OS (High Sierra), so check on that before you buy. You could probably use an older version if necessary.

I don't know their install procedures but I think they're pretty straightforward. Perhaps they have trial versions.

It is possible to use Oracle Virtualbox, which is free, but I don't recommend it unless you are technically minded and willing to spend time reading up and tinkering to get it working. I have done this, but it is a bit of a hassle.

Hoff

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 24, 2018
This should be possible with either Parallels or VMWare Fusion. I'm not sure, but it could be that the latest versions might not run on your older host OS (High Sierra), so check on that before you buy. You could probably use an older version if necessary.

I don't know their install procedures but I think they're pretty straightforward. Perhaps they have trial versions.

It is possible to use Oracle Virtualbox, which is free, but I don't recommend it unless you are technically minded and willing to spend time reading up and tinkering to get it working. I have done this, but it is a bit of a hassle.
Ok. Will not try Oracle. Parallels seems to pull the MacOS installation files from the recovery directory already on the machine.
I may install that trial version and try it out.
Thanks.