Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ronross

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 14, 2008
MO
Hello,

I hope I'm at the right forum for assistance to my question. If not, please feel free to redirect me to the correct discussion location.

I currently use Chrome as my web browser. Whenever I highlight and click "Search with Google", it opens Safari instead of staying within Chrome. I understand OSX is coded to do this, however I have been reading that automator can create a script to force searching with google to stay or open the Chrome browser.

If anyone can assist me on how to accomplish this, I would be eternally grateful. Please understand I have very little knowledge of how to use automator, but I can follow direction and am not afraid to try.

Thanks,

Reactions: zehirin

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
I think what you need to do is go here in System Prefs and set Chrome as your default browser.

Screen Shot 2018-03-18 at 12.22.41 PM.png

ronross

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 14, 2008
MO
There seems to be some disconnect here. I have Chrome as my default browser in System Preferences>General. That isn't the issue. The concern is when I have an app open and highlight a word within the app with my mouse. I then right click and a dialog box opens with the option to search with Google. If I highlight and click that, Safari opens a new window. That's the issue. I do not want Safari opening a new window. I don't want Safari to open at all. It appears that "Search with Google" is coded to open Safari.

Weaselboy

Staff member
Jan 23, 2005
California
I see what you mean. I just changed that setting to Chrome and it has not effect of the right click behavior you mentioned when I just tested in TextEdit. Sorry I'm not more help.

flowrider

macrumors 604
Nov 23, 2012