Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Trifle James

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 5, 2013
Hi there,

I'm new to all this so sorry if I'm doing anything wrong.

On my Mac Pro (10.8.2) using my magic mouse, when I double click a folder it opens as you would expect. That's all fine, but after this, it only takes a single click to open the folders or files. This is extremely annoying as I will double click to open a folder, then double click again to find I have accidentally opened a folder and then a file within it which wastes time.

Is there a way I can turn this feature off?

Thanks in advance.

Thrash911

macrumors 6502
Sep 14, 2006
Jutland, Denmark
Um.. Is it even possible to configure OS X to open files and folders with single click? I can't figure out how to do it.. :confused:

Try playing around with the mouse settings, especially the Double-Click Speed (System Preferences -> Mouse). See if that changes anything. Could it be possible, that your mouse is defective? Maybe try with another mouse?

Other than that, I'm out.. Maybe someone else can weigh in?

I hope you solve it, because OS X is a delight to use! :)

Trifle James

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 5, 2013
Thanks for the reply!

Um.. Is it even possible to configure OS X to open files and folders with single click? I can't figure out how to do it.. :confused:

Try playing around with the mouse settings, especially the Double-Click Speed (System Preferences -> Mouse). See if that changes anything. Could it be possible, that your mouse is defective? Maybe try with another mouse?

Thanks for the reply!