Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NEOMO

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 7, 2014
Hi everyone! I am an amateur designer. I love my iPad and happy to see Apple continues to improve the lightness of their product. However, the design in most iPad cases on market didn’t evolve at all, and that makes me really disappointed.:confused:

Since a good case is essential for user experience of iPad, I made up a proposal trying to create a better iPad case with my friends, and we’ve already realized the idea into a prototype...:cool:

Our ideal iPad case would have the following features:

*Carbon Fiber structure inside – to make the case super thin, lightest ever!
(We know cabon fiber is very expensive, so need to use it wisely.)

*Magnetic detachable-sleeve (flap) – to reduced hand-held burden
(One year ago, I thought out a magnetic mechanism that can make it handy and reliable.)

*Portrait/Landscape multiple viewing-angles, and Stable when typing on lap
(This part is not new, but products on market that have these features are always thick and heavy…)

*Mountable on seat back, creating the best personal TV for traveling on plane or train
(One of the best thing on our iPad is the quality of screen: Clear, Rich-color, and Wide angle-of-view. On the contrary, the size/resolution of TV display on airplane makes us frustrated. Since we have our iPad with 10” Retina Display and iTune, why not installing it by ourselves instead?)

*Mountable on ferromagnetic surface. (ex. Fridge)
(It would be useful in daily life. Of course, the magnet shouldn’t affect or damage the iPad)

Sounds incredible, right?;) Yes, it seems unpractical and the cost should be sky-high. However, my friends and I did create the prototype, it works quite well...
0B8V_SSC5jH_uUXp6V0ZRbkhFR2c

This magnetic detachable-sleeve can hold up to 1.8 kilograms. I have to say it’s MUCH more safe & reliable than Smart Cover.