Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Unspoken Demise

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Apr 16, 2009
>9,000
Yes, I am a newbie to the forums and to Mac products. This is my first Mac Product, so I am coming to you guys for help. Windows Mobile is annoying as hell, even 6.1, on my Tilt. Help me make the best decision for my new electronic best friend?

Ok, so over the course of the last maybe 2 months I have done a decent amount of research on cases for the iPhone 3g I am getting today at my local AT&T store.

I am one of those people who think in a minimalist way that I would rather enjoy my phone for what it is, and if I could, I would leave it naked and just put a screen protector on it. Then, when its in my pocket, I want to put it in maybe a Rex Regina Sleeve or a Sena Ultra Slim case. I treat my electronics well and very very rarely drop them, so I myself could pull it off.

However

My girlfriend may as well be a walking cell phone killer. She dropped my AT&T Tilt twice. Shes dropped her own Sony Ericson phone like 10 times. Good thing that phone is a tank.

Personally, I want to leave it naked, but I know she'll want to play with it, seeing as she likes to play with a lot of my things (see what I did there?) lol.
If I go naked or put an Incipio feather case on it, and she drops it, I may as well call the AT&T store while Its falling to the ground because those cases sure as hell will not stand the test of a 3-4 foot fall, and consequently, my new phone will take the damage, more than likely shattering it.

For the tl;dr; people out there, what case can I get that is minimal in design, but that is "clumsy girlfriend proof" enough to at least take the hit for the phone? I dont care if the case scratches or breaks, as long as my 300$ investment is safe. I can always buy a new case.