Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Scottyee

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 12, 2012
San Francisco Bay Area, USA
I just purchased a Wacom "Bamboo Stylus Solo" for my iPad 3.
This is my first time ever using a stylus on an iPad or tablet.

What "drawing" and/or " note taking" Apps are recommended for new stylus owners wanting to master the unique(?) skill of writing and fine drawing on the iPad using a stylus?
Any stylus writing/drawing tips shared is greatly appreciated as well.. Thanks. :)

HengenJL

macrumors 6502a
May 27, 2007
Rochester, NY
Penultimate and Notability are great hand writing notes apps that you can sync with Dropbox. I have the Bamboo stylus and love it. Just can't remember where I put it down last :p

JonMPLS

macrumors 68000
May 23, 2010
MN
I tried a few notepad type apps (Penultimate, Bamboo, Noteability) before finding my favorite. I really like Noteshelf. I really like the way it handles resting your palm while I write, the options that are available in the program, and the iBooks-like way of displaying notebooks.

PS: the stylus you bought is my current favorite too!

Last edited:

xraydoc

Contributor
Oct 9, 2005
Noteshelf is my preferred app, and it was recently updated for the iPad 3 retina display and looks absolutely gorgeous!

tonyz3

macrumors newbie
Mar 20, 2012
In addition to the 2 apps you bought which i love both of them. Give Paper53 a try. Def a fun app for drawing and light notes. Notability is my go to though.

GerritV

macrumors 68020
May 11, 2012
Congratulations on the Bamboo stylus. After reading yet another good review on this particular stylus recently, I decided to purchase one myself. Looking forward to compare it with my Arctic Architect stylus.

Paper by 53 is free, yes, but has in-app purchase options. And not too many features on board.