Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

VigCS

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 23, 2007
Washington D.C., USA
Hi all. I recently got a nice tax refund. I'm a college student in need of a laptop. I have a gaming desktop so games aren't my concern.

Basically, I have two opportunities.

1) My friend who works at bestbuy can get me an open box 2.0 GHz conroe macbook with 1 gig of ram for $850 after taxes.

2) I can get a 2.16 GHz Penryn macbook for $1050 after taxes. Same specs, just a penryn instead of a conroe.

(Either option, I'm going to replace the 512x2 with 2gb x2...really cheap on newegg)

What do you all think I should do? I really haven't the slightest. The open box is semi-used as it was a display model. Thanks for any opinions!

AliensAreFuzzy

macrumors 68000
May 30, 2004
Madison, WI
Personally I wouldn't want a display model. Who knows what those strange Best Buy customers did to it. Plus you can get the same thing from the Apple Refurb store for the same price.

iMpathetic

macrumors 68030
Oct 7, 2007
IMBY
Personally I wouldn't want a display model. Who knows what those strange Best Buy customers did to it. Plus you can get the same thing from the Apple Refurb store for the same price.

I would go for the Conroe. Penryn has almost no speed increase over it.

Plus, $200 in your pocket for a decent LCD to hook it up to! :)

(You could return it if the customers screwed it up.)

Phear

macrumors newbie
Mar 19, 2008
Canada
Penryn

i will be better to get the macbook with penryn
Reasons,

extended battery life (penryn 45nm archutecture sips less power than conroe's)

Notable speed difference (even the cpu frequency vary by .16 GHZ there is a major speed difference, since the penryn core archiutecture has more cache by 4 mb i believe and shorter pipeline, And its 45nm)