Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Which flash drive storage And video card would be best? ( please only choose one of each

• 1) Flash storage 512gb

Votes: 4 44.4%
  • 2) Flash storage 1tb

Votes: 5 55.6%
  • 1) M395 video card 2gb

Votes: 1 11.1%
  • 2) M395x video card 4gb

Votes: 8 88.9%

• Total voters

OculitiX

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 29, 2015
SO basically I want to build a custom iMac for Video Editing use, but I'm trying to figure out what's the best configuration for my needs seeing as I'm a beginner and this will be for my own time hobbies. It's strictly for website management, picture and video editing. I want to make youtube videos.

FIrstly i want an imac 27 Inch, i7 Processor 4.0 GHZ
8gb of ram & 512gb flash storage. AMD Raedon r9 m395x 4gb Video Memory

Basically the issue is that I don't know if I need the M395x or if I should just settle for the M395 what's the difference between the two & will I feel the difference? Also the flash storage is an issue too, I want to get the 1tb, it will give me more space and also have a better resale value In the future, but is It worth it? I plan to have external hard drives holding my projects, can somebody explain to me how many prograEd, music, pictures and videos 512gb can store. Also can I feel the difference?
Regarding the ram, I plan to increase it on my own, retail price is too expensive.

Also as I stated before. I want to use this for youtubing, main programs are Photoshop & Final Cut Pro. Also I will be streaming on Twitch.

Would it be a better idea to wait for the next year iMac to come out instead?

The current total for the iMac I described earlier is $4,562 CAN

p.s it's an extra $800 for 1tb Flash Storage

image.png

torquer

macrumors regular
Oct 16, 2014