Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheOutspokenMan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2023
So, I'm looking at 2 different MacBook Pros.

1. 15" 2017 Macbook Pro - Core i7 - 2.9 GHz - SSD 512 GB - RAM 16GB
2. 15" 2018 Macbook Pro - Core i7 - 2.6 GHz - SSD 512 GB - RAM 16GB

I'm not too good with tech specs, but it appears the 2017 has a higher ghz than the 2017. Would the 1st choice be better value? It's cheaper than the 2nd choice, but seems like a better one. I'm going to be using this MacBook primarily for schoolwork, maybe some light games occasionally, and watching YouTube etc.

After diving in:
Number 1 has: Processor core: 4
Number 2 has: Processor core: 6

Number 1 has: Core i7-7820HQ for CPU
Number 2 has: Core i7-8850H for CPU

Number 1 has: AMD Radeon Pro 560 for GPU
Number 2 has: AMD Radeon Pro 560X

Mlrollin91

macrumors G5
Nov 20, 2008
How much are they? Without pricing, we won't be able to determine if either are a good value, or one being a better value.

A 6-core 2.6 is going to outperform a 4-core 2.9.

6-core 2.6 Single Core Geekbench: 1255; Multicore: 4887
4-core 2.9 Single Core Geekbench: 1129; Multicore: 3648

TheOutspokenMan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2023
How much are they? Without pricing, we won't be able to determine if either are a good value, or one being a better value.

A 6-core 2.6 is going to outperform a 4-core 2.9.

6-core 2.6 Single Core Geekbench: 1255; Multicore: 4887
4-core 2.9 Single Core Geekbench: 1129; Multicore: 3648
I know of a co-worker that is willing to sell his for 2017 (#1) for $430, and the 2018 (#2) for around $485-500.

TheOutspokenMan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 18, 2023
I know of a co-worker that is willing to sell his for 2017 (#1) for $430, and the 2018 (#2) for around $485-500.